The Chakra Series: An Intro to Your Inner Self

Welcome to the CHAKRA series, so happy you could make it.

And guess what? This is the first installment, the pivotal moment of diving deeper, the beginning of our chakra journey! Yes, you read that right, you’re witnessing the beginning of something amazing!

Can you tell I’m slightly excited, just slightly…

So what the hell is a chakra? And why does it benefit you to spend your precious time here, with me, reading this article?

Related: What are the chakras? Your ULTIMATE Guide to the 7 Energy Centers

The word chakra, which is Sanskrit, translates to a wheel or disk. And we, as in me and you, have seven of these babies spinning within us.

Wait, hold up, say what?

Yes – it is true. We all possess seven spinning wheels, inside of us, that are incredibly connected to our physical, emotional, and spiritual self. Each wheel represents a different aspect of our being, a different natural element related to Mother Nature, a different color, and a different mantra. And while the wheels are apparently different, they’re simultaneously connected and woven together through a larger system of energy. And because of this connection, when one wheels energy starts to slow, drain, or completely stop – it impacts ALL the other wheels.

By learning and understanding what the chakras are, we have the ability to awaken, energize, and reconnect each one – therefore creating balance, harmony, fluidity, and ease within our body, mind and souls.

Does that make sense?

It’s hard to grasp this type of woo-woo stuff when you’ve never seen, heard, or experienced it, but trust me – we’re in this journey together and we will get it!

Below is a quick breakdown of what the seven chakras are + all the details associated with each one. This information is vital for you + me to continue this journey, so please – open your beautiful eyes, grab a notebook + pen, sit up tall, take a deep breath, and let’s learn this chakra stuff.

1. Muladhara Chakra 

Our first chakra is the root of who we are, our foundation, our most basic fundamental self. This chakra centers around basic survival needs – like food, shelter, and money, and deals with emotions like belonging, feeling grounded, safe, and accepted.

  • English term – the root chakra
  • Location – the base of your spine
  • Element – Earth
  • Color – red
  • Mantra – LAM

2. Svadhisthana Chakra

The second chakra is responsible for who we are creatively. It focuses on our sexuality, creativity, playfulness, pleasure, and joy.

  • English term – the sacral chakra
  • Location – above the pubic bone and below the navel
  • Element – water
  • Color – orange
  • Mantra – VAM

3. Manipura Chakra 

The third chakra governs our self-esteem, personal power, power of transformation, and warrior like energy.

  • English term – the navel chakra
  • Location – the navel area, up to the breastbone
  • Element – fire
  • Color – yellow
  • Mantra – RAM

4. Anahata Chakra

The fourth chakra is center of the seven chakras, it’s the connector or the bridge between our physical body, mind, emotions and our spiritual self. This energy wheel is our source of love, connection, compassion, openness, and joy.

  • English term – the heart chakra
  • Location – the heart center
  • Element – air
  • Color – green
  • Mantra – YAM

5. Vishuddha Chakra

The fifth chakra is the first of the spiritual chakras and it focuses on speaking our highest truth, practicing vulnerability and conscious vocal expression.

  • English term – the throat chakra
  • Location – the throat area which encompasses the neck, thyroid, parathyroid glands, jaw, mouth, and tongue
  • Element – space/ether
  • Color – blue
  • Mantra – HAM

6. Ajna Chakra

The sixth chakra is our center of intuition and it’s centered around our awareness, wisdom, imagination, and realization.

  • English term – the third eye chakra
  • Location –  the space between the eyebrows
  • Element – mind
  • Color – indigo
  • Mantra – AUM

7. Sahasrara Chakra 

The seventh chakra is our source of enlightenment, our spiritual connection to something greater, our relationship with our higher selves, and deeper/acutely aware consciousness.

  • English term – the crown chakra
  • Location – the crown of the head
  • Element – Cosmic energy
  • Color – violet
  • Mantra – OHM

Okay – do you kinda get it now?

Maybe you’re starting to catch onto all this woo-woo yoga/spirituality/life is better on this side of the world?

I hope so, truly.

So here’s the deal – this was the introduction to the chakras, a brief overview, a quick breakdown. Over the coming weeks, we’ll discover each chakra, go deeper into their meanings, what creates instability in this energy center, how to keep it balanced and open, the yoga poses that correlate, and how to meditate with the mantra.

So please, join me on this chakra journey! It will be a great opportunity to learn more about yourself – physically, mentally, emotionally, and spiritually.

Until next time – xoxo.

Psssst… Ready to deepen your connection to the 7 chakras through your yoga practice? Click here for my Chakra Yoga Challenge!

Hey! I’m Allie.

I’m a self-growth student, freedom-seeker, yoga teacher and the founder of a tight-knit online yoga community: the Body Mind Soul Studio. I’m here to teach you how to transform your life on-and-off-the-mat with a holistic yoga practice.

Rekindle Your Yoga Practice

If your practice has waned, if your yoga journey feels lonely or you like the way I share yoga’s teachings, then this is where you need to be. Join me once a month, for free, to practice yoga as a community.

Work With Me

Let’s do it!



If your practice has waned, if your yoga journey feels lonely or you like the way I share yoga’s teachings, then this is where you need to be. Join me once a month, for free, to practice yoga as a community.